BrokerNotes.co is committed to the highest ethical standards and reviews services independently. Learn How We Make Money

Plus500 Review

BrokerNotes.co

Written by BrokerNotes.co
Edited by John Bringans
Fact-checked by Joey Shadeck

February 01, 2023

Plus500 is a highly-trusted broker offering a wide range of CFDs from within its user-friendly trading platforms. While its educational content and range of research trails category leaders, Plus500 is still a great choice for less demanding traders.

Overall Rating
8.5 / 10
Minimum Initial Deposit
€100
Trust Score
Trust Score is a numerical rating (from 1 - 99) that represents a broker's overall trust.close
Highly Trusted

Plus500 Trust Score

We consider Plus500 to be Highly Trusted, with an overall Trust Score of 98 out of 99.

Plus500 is currently licensed and/or authorised by the following regulatory bodies:

About Trust Score: Trust Score, a proprietary algorithm that allows traders to get an at-a-glance rating of a broker’s overall trust, was originally developed for BrokerNotes.co’s sister site, ForexBrokers.com. Trust Score is based on our independent research and powered by the extensive data we’ve collected on brokers and regulatory agencies across a wide range of regulatory environments, jurisidictions, and countries.

Regulatory licenses held by Plus500, compared to the industry average

Plus500 currently has 4 Tier-1 Licenses, 3 Tier-2 Licenses, and 0 Tier-3 Licenses. To get an idea of how Plus500 stacks up against the industry average, check out our visual breakdown of the average number of Tier-1, Tier-2, and Tier-3 regulatory licenses held by brokers in the BrokerNotes database:

algo%20reviews%20average%20license%20tier%20trust%20score.PNG

Can I trust Plus500?

Plus500 has a Trust Score of 98, compared to the industry average of 82, and BrokerNotes.co considers Plus500 to be Highly Trusted. Trust Scores can vary from broker to broker (a "Highly Trusted" label means a broker is at the top of our scoring scale, and a "High Risk" label indicates a broker that's at the lowest end of our Trust Score scale), so it’s helpful to know where your broker stands in comparison to the rest of the industry.

Check out our visual breakdown below to get an idea of how Plus500’s status as a Highly Trusted broker compares to the average Trust Score label in our database of 60+ forex brokers.

average risk label of forex brokers on BrokerNotes.co

Why should I care about regulatory licenses?

Determining the legitimacy of a forex broker (and avoiding forex scams) can be a real challenge. Unregulated brokers do not have to report to a governing body. If your broker lacks regulation, and you are scammed in any way, you often have no recourse for recovering your funds. That being said, not all regulator licenses carry the same weight.

In our three-tier Trust Score system, the strictest regulatory agencies and licenses are labeled Tier-1. Here are a couple of examples of how Tier-1 licenses provide the highest consumer protections:

  • Many regulators impose additional capital requirements. Brokers that offer forex trading to retail clients in the U.S. must maintain at least $20 million in regulatory capital as a Retail Forex Exchange Dealer (RFED) with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC).
  • Brokers are subject to stricter laws. In an effort to prevent consumers from sustaining heavy losses, the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in the U.K. does not permit leverage beyond 100:1. The FCA also requires that forex companies segregate client funds from their own. Read our guide to trading forex in the U.K. to learn more.

Investment Types at Plus500

There are now dozens of regulated forex brokers, each with their own product offering and range of available markets. It’s important to make sure that the forex broker you’ve chosen allows you to trade your preferred instruments and markets. To help you decide if Plus500 is the right broker for you, we’ve included a breakdown of the major products and range of markets available at Plus500:

  • Total tradeable symbols - 2800
  • Total forex pairs - 71
  • Copy trading - No
  • Cryptocurrency (physical) - No
  • Cryptocurrency (CFD) - Yes
  • Spread betting - No

Overall, Plus500 ranks #22 out of the 62 brokers that have been evaluated and scored within our investment types category.

Note: The range of markets available to you may vary, depending on your country or region of residence. To learn more about country-specific regulations and restrictions (and to discover our data-based picks for the best brokers by country), check out our country guides.

How many tradeable symbols does Plus500 offer?

Plus500 provides access to 2800 tradeable symbols and 71 different forex pairs, compared to the median number of 982 symbols and average of 66 forex pairs across the 60+ brokers reviewed on BrokerNotes.

How does Plus500’s offering of investments compare to the rest of the 60+ brokers on BrokerNotes.co?

Tracked as variables within our database, our research team closely monitors the availability of features and products such as bitcoin, cryptocurrency CFDs, commodities, social copy trading, Islamic accounts, stocks (CFD and non-CFD), and some of the most popular forex pairs – among many others.

According to our independent database (currently tracking over 2,200 data points), the average forex broker offers 29 of the 37 products and features currently tracked for our offering of investments category. Plus500 offers 29, which helped contribute to the broker ranking #22 out of 62 brokers overall in this category.

How does Plus500 compare to the rest of the 60+ brokers on BrokerNotes.co for its offering of investments?

According to our independently researched database of international forex brokers, 100% of brokers offer forex trading (spot or CFDs), 6% offer crypto trading (physical asset), 87% offer trading physical cryptocurrency CFDs, 90% offer trading on U.S. stock CFDs, 29% offer trading on physical U.S. stocks, 52% offer ETFs, 34% offer international stock trading (non-CFDs), and 79% offer social copy trading.

algo%20reviews%20offering%20of%20investments.PNG

Commissions and Fees at Plus500

Your forex broker’s trading costs can be a factor in the overall profitability of your trading strategy. That being the case, it’s crucial to choose a forex broker with commissions and fees that are affordable for your trading style. We’ve researched and broken down the trading costs that you can expect to find with Plus500:

  • Minimum initial deposit - €100
  • Average Spread EUR/USD - 0.6 (as of Aug 2018)
  • All-in Cost EUR/USD - N/A
  • Active Trader or VIP Discounts - No

Plus500 has a score of 9.0/10 in this category, while the average broker received a score of 8/10. Overall, Plus500 ranks #11 out of the 62 brokers that were evaluated and scored for our commissions and fees category.

What is the minimum deposit requirement for trading with Plus500?

The average minimum deposit requirement across the industry is £115 (55 brokers), whereas Plus500 requires an initial minimum deposit of €100. Forex brokers require a minimum deposit in order to cover their own costs associated with opening and maintaining a trading account for the client. The amount required can vary depending on the broker and the type of account being opened.

What are the typical spreads at Plus500?

Plus500 delivers an average spread of 0.6 (as of Aug 2018) when trading the EUR/USD within a standard account. The all-in cost of trading the EUR/USD with an active account is N/A. We were able to obtain average spread data for over 30 brokers, and found the industry averages for these data points to be 1.04 (standard) and 0.87 (all-in).

algo%20reviews%20spreads.PNG

How does Plus500 fare against the rest of the 60+ brokers on BrokerNotes.co for commissions & fees?

Looking at our database, the average forex broker offers 6 of the 11 features variables we track in the commissions & fees category, and has average spreads of 1.04 when trading the EUR/USD. Plus500 offers 6 of the 11 features, while offering average spreads of 0.6 (as of Aug 2018) which helped contribute to the broker ranking #11 out of 62 brokers in this category.

Traders are constantly on the hunt for low-cost forex brokers – you can learn more about low-cost forex trading by checking out our guide to zero-spread forex brokers.

Funding Methods at Plus500

The availability and flexibility of your broker’s banking options and payment methods can make an impact on your overall trading experience. Simply put: all traders need to have a reliable method for depositing and withdrawing funds. We’ve researched the banking and funding options at Plus500 to see if it’s the right broker for your preferred payment method:

  • Visa/Mastercard (credit/debit) - Yes
  • Bank Wire (deposit/withdrawal) - Yes
  • PayPal (deposit/withdrawal) - Yes
  • Skrill (deposit/withdrawal) - Yes

92% of the brokers in our database (60+) offer Visa/Mastercard, 79% offer Skrill, 71% offer Neteller, and 42% offer PayPal. PayPal has become a popular funding option for many forex traders, find out which brokers support it as a payment method by reading our PayPal guide for forex traders.

algo%20reviews%20banking.PNG

Trading Platforms at Plus500

A vital part of any trader’s experience, a broker’s trading platform can make or break any trading experience.

Here’s what Plus500 offers in terms of trading platforms. Ultimately Plus500 ranks #14 of the 62 brokers graded across ourplatforms & tools category.

  • Proprietary platform - Yes
  • Desktop platform (windows) - No
  • Web platform - Yes
  • MetaTrader 4 (MT4) - No
  • MetaTrader 5 (MT5) - No
  • DupliTrade - No

As far as platform trading tools are concerned, Plus500 provides 110 charting indicators, 21 drawing tools, and 9 watchlist fields, contributing to its overall category rating of 8.5/10.

How do trading platforms at Plus500 stack up against the competition?

Of the 60+ brokers reviewed on BrokersNotes, 61% offer a proprietary platform, 100% offer a web platform, 90% offer a desktop platform, 11% offer cTrader, 19% offer Zulutrade, 81% offer MetaTrader 4, and 62% offer MetaTrader 5.

algo%20reviews%20trading%20platforms%20offered.PNG

How is Plus500 graded against the other 60+ brokers on BrokerNotes.co for platforms & tools?

Analyzing our 1,178 data points for our platforms & tools category, the average forex broker has 12 of the 19 features we track for desktop web platforms. Plus500 has 9. Plus500 received an overall rating of 8.5/10 in the platforms & tools category, contributing to its overall category ranking of #14 out of 62 brokers overall.

Check out a gallery of screenshots from the platform offering at Plus500, taken by our research team during our product testing.

Research at Plus500

Having consistent access to high-quality market research is hugely important to forex traders. To effectively keep track of market movements, traders need to stay up-to-date with global events, industry news and trends. We gave Plus500 a 7.5/10 in the research category, while the average broker received a 7/10. Here’s our summary of the research offerings available at Plus500:

  • Autochartist - No
  • Daily Market Commentary - Yes
  • Economic Calendar - Yes
  • Forex News (Top-Tier Sources) - No
  • Social Sentiment - Currency Pairs - Yes
  • Trading Central (Recognia) - No


How does the research offering at Plus500 measure up against the 60+ brokers in the BrokerNotes database?

During our evaluations of online forex brokers, we’ve collected over 360 data points that track the research-specific features that are most important to traders and investors. Plus500 offers 2 of those 5 features, whereas the average forex broker offers 3 of those features. Plus500 received an overall rating of 7/10 in the research category, contributing to its overall category ranking of #34 out of the 62 brokers in the BrokerNotes database.

algo%20reviews%20research.PNG

Mobile Apps at Plus500

Analyzing our 744 data points for our mobile apps category, the average forex broker has 9 of the 11 features we track. Plus500 has 9 of these features. Plus500 received an overall rating of 8.5/10 in the mobile trading category, contributing to its overall category ranking of #14 out of 62 total brokers.

  • Android App - Yes
  • Apple App - Yes
  • Forex Calendar - Yes
  • Mobile Alerts - Basic Fields - Yes
  • Mobile Charting - Draw Trendlines - Yes
  • Mobile Watchlist - Yes

Check out a gallery of screenshots from the mobile trading app offering at Plus500, taken by our research team during our product testing.



How do the mobile features available at Plus500 stack up against the industry average ?

In terms of mobile charting indicators and studies Plus500 has 110, compared to the industry average of 41. Mobile charting indicators can be a useful tool to help traders analyze price trends, identify potential entry and exit points, and make informed trading decisions.

algo%20reviews%20mobile.PNG

Education at Plus500

Client education is another staple of forex brokers. Here’s how Plus500 fares in providing clients with the most common types of educational content.

  • General education on forex or CFDs - Yes
  • Client webinars - No
  • Beginner videos - Yes
  • Advanced trading videos - No
  • Investor Glossary - No


How does Plus500 compare to the rest of the 60+ brokers on BrokerNotes.co for educational content?

According to our database, 81% of brokers offer general education, 58% offer webinars, 76% offer beginner videos and 39% offer advanced videos. Analyzing our 372 data points for our education category, the average forex broker has 4 of the 6 features we track. Plus500 has 2 of these features. Plus500 received an overall rating of 7.0/10 in the education category, contributing to its overall category ranking of #37 out of 62 brokers overall.

algo%20reviews%20education.PNG

Overall Summary

As a recap here’s how Plus500 fared in each of our core categories.

  • Trust Score - 98
  • Investment Types - 8.0/10
  • Commissions & Fees - 9.0/10
  • Research - 7.5/10
  • Mobile Apps - 8.5/10
  • Education - 7.0/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10

FAQs

Does Plus500 offer copy trading?

Yes; in case you were wondering, 79% of the brokers reviewed on BrokerNotes.co offer this popular feature. To learn more about social copy trading (and to see our picks for the best forex brokers for copy trading), check out our guide to copy trading.

Can I trade US stocks with Plus500?

If you want to trade U.S. stocks as CFDs with Plus500, then Yes. If you are looking to trade non-CFD stocks (and own the underlying asset or stock), then Yes.

Remember – there’s a difference between trading U.S. stocks as CFDs (tradeable instruments that track the price of an underlying security or asset) and being able to own the underlying stock. If you purchase a U.S. stock, you own the actual shares; if you purchase or trade a CFD, you don't own the asset itself. According to our database, 90% of forex brokers allow you to trade U.S. stocks as a CFD, while only 29% allow you to own the stock itself.

Forex Risk Disclaimer

There is a very high degree of risk involved in trading securities. With respect to margin-based foreign exchange trading, off-exchange derivatives, and cryptocurrencies, there is considerable exposure to risk, including but not limited to, leverage, creditworthiness, limited regulatory protection and market volatility that may substantially affect the price, or liquidity of a currency or related instrument. It should not be assumed that the methods, techniques, or indicators presented in these products will be profitable, or that they will not result in losses. Learn more about foreign exchange risk.

More Forex Guides


About the Editorial Team

BrokerNotes.co
BrokerNotes.co

BrokerNotes is powered by a dynamic team of writers, researchers, content strategists, data analysts, editors, traders, and investors. We are obsessed with creating the best finance content on the internet, and we are dedicated to helping our readers make great choices for their money.


John Bringans
John Bringans

John Bringans is the Senior Editor of BrokerNotes.co and ForexBrokers.com. An experienced media professional, John has close to a decade of editorial experience with a background that includes key leadership roles at global newsroom outlets. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in English Literature from San Francisco State University, and conducts research on forex and the financial services industry while assisting in the production of content.


Joey Shadeck
Joey Shadeck

Joey Shadeck is the Content Strategist and Research Analyst for BrokerNotes.co and ForexBrokers.com. He holds dual degrees in Finance and Marketing from Oakland University, and has been an active trader and investor for close to ten years. An industry veteran, Joey obtains and verifies data, conducts research, and analyzes and validates our content.




close